It’s a lobster! It’s a person! It’s … tea leaf reading!

When doing tasseomancy, or reading patterns in substances such as tea leaves, coffee grounds or wine sediments, we naturally see images that speak first to our selves. We draw meaning from our personal symbolic dictionaries.

This is why the best readings often include input from the client. They turn into a sort of cloud gazing with a friend.

A recent client visited me at SpiritWays wanting to know more about how to engage in the relationships in her life. The image below the first two in this photo struck me as a lobster, and I wanted to begin discussing The Moon card from traditional Tarot:

Just below the upside down word "South" is what I interpreted as a lobster. My client saw a person.
Just below the upside down word “South” is what I interpreted as a lobster. My client saw a person.

My client saw a person with their hands stretching to the sky, embracing their spiritual goodness.

I had previously interpreted the leaves near the handle and rim to be a bouquet of flowers held by a hand, from the side of the handle. The next large leaf collection has the possibility of being a laser tag gun, connoting together that she offer her gifts of affection and approach her friends playfully.

If the person stays a lobster, though, the bouquet and the laser tag gun could become the wolf and the domestic dog on The Moon card in the Rider-Waite-Smith tradition:

The Rider-Waite-Smith Moon card also has a lobster, who I thought of when I looked at my client's leaves, above. The dog and wolf may also be represented in the cup image in this post.
The Rider-Waite-Smith Moon card also has a lobster, which I thought of when I looked at my client’s leaves, above. The dog and wolf may also be represented in the cup image in this post.

My lobster would have been a creature of intuition with a long, risky journey ahead that involves trust and inner strength. My client instead found a part of shining self: accepting and celebratory.

We can together find singular symbols within your own personal dictionary. Book any of my readings (I’m available noon- 5 p.m. Sunday, Sept 21 or  noon- 7 p.m. Wednesdays at SpiritWays in Denver. I can also do email, phone and Skype readings by appointment.

Please check out my website for my events, adventures, testimonials and more. If you’d like to review me or see what others have said about my services, visit my listing at chooseapsychic.com.

I only need 30+ new subscribers to my newsletter by Oct 1. If I make this goal, I can offer everyone on the list a free one card reading via email, so please sign up and spread the word. Thanks again.

Thanks for the read.

Leave a Reply

