Have some faith in the sound

“I don’t belong to you and you don’t belong to me.” — George Michael, Freedom! ’90

My world’s a new one since I last wrote. I’m in an entirely different home and no longer in a city I love, Denver. I am happily employed (and wasn’t when I started this blog, which is probably why it was so ambitious). And I’m single again, separate from a man I loved for five years. Ob-la-di, Ob-la-da? You know, It don’t come easy.

Today’s words come from a very helpful read in these curious, formative, exciting, hopeful times: Is It Love or Is It Addiction? by Brenda Schaeffer. I’ve selected them because I think they also help to illustrate The Fool in Tarot.

limerence: noun
the intrusive, intoxicating, involuntary cognitive and emotional rush of feelings experienced by an intense romantic desire for another person.

source: Dorothy Tennov, Ph.D.

*

self-actualization: noun
(breaking away from a brief definition, I’m lifting straight off page 39 of Schaeffer’s book)
“Listed here are the characteristics of people who are near self-actualization.

1. They accept reality.
2. They accept themselves, other people, and the world for what they are.
3. They are spontaneous.
4. They are problem-centered rather than self-centered.
5. They have an air of detachment and a need for privacy.
6. They are autonomous and independent.
7. Their appreciation of people and things is fresh rather than stereotyped.
8. Most have had profound mystical or spiritual experiences, although those experiences are not necessarily religious in character.
9. They identify with humankind.
10. Their intimate relationships with a few specially loved people tend to be profound and deeply emotional rather than superficial.
11. Their values and attitudes are democratic.
12. They do not confuse means with ends.
13. Their sense of humor is philosophical rather than hostile.
14. They resist conformity to the culture.
15. They transcend the environment rather than just cope with it.”

Thanks for the read. I hope to post weekly and would love to hear from you.

6 thoughts on “Have some faith in the sound

  1. Hi! I hopped over to YourHub and found your comment from the third. Thanks for paying attention.

    I love this blog entry of yours. And that you’ve made such huge changes in your life. I long for change and yet fear it too much to try big steps.

    What if “Words” was one of the tarot card suits? I mean, how many people carry around staves anymore? We’ve still got coins and swords and cups, though. Well, knives not swords. I always want to redesign the tarot. LOL.

    1. Hi, Lisa. Your comment is so thoughtful. You rock for coming on over. Thank you. When I wrote my MFA thesis, I invented a few new suits, like Words.

      As for change, start with little steps. 😉

Leave a Reply

